Edison (Eddie)

Edison (Eddie)
From: South Carolina
Name: Edison (Eddie for short)
Weight: 38lbs
Age: 10 – 12 months
Gender: male
Breed: boxer mix
Color: tan and white

Good with adults: yes
Good with kids: older kids
Good with other dogs: yes, with calm dogs who give good social cues. He plays rough/dominant and should be introduced slowly while on leash. Walks well with other dogs. Non-aggressive, just a rough player.
Good with cats: unsure; has not shown prey drive with birds or squirrels
House trained: Yes
Crate trained: Yes – foster uses white noise while crated as a calming aid
Energy level: medium/high – needs daily exercise
Can be handled/touched: yes! 🙂
Barker: normal level
Flight risk: Is an escape risk. Needs a well built fence; will slip through small spaces.
Food aggressive: when initially brought to a foster home he did not like other dogs putting their head near his food bowl. He has since adjusted and eats next to a chihuahua. He eats while crated, however has absolutely no issues with dogs around him while he is eating now
Walks on leash: does well with correction, will pull when you first start out but does settle nicely
Rides well in car: Unsteady on his feet in the car, but yes. Does not ride well in a crate, does better “loose” in the back or tethered in the back on a leash
Destructive: No
Needs a home with a yard: Yes, prefers to be outside
Needs a home with another dog: No
Can live in an apartment: no

Additional information:
If you’re looking for an adventure buddy, Eddie is your guy. He wants to go everywhere with you and doesn’t like to let you out of his sights. He’s not a big fan of the crate because that means he can’t be right beside you, but he will settle after 5-10 minutes. He’d be a great running buddy, snuggle friend, or outside time playmate for your older kids. Eddie would do well as an only dog in the home or with a well balanced dog who knows how to give good social cues. He does not have the best dog manners as he was not socialized in the past, but he’s very smart and quick to learn when corrected. He has been in a foster home with 5 other dogs and though it took him some time to adjust he did very much so enjoy his foster friends. He now sleeps in the bed with four foster siblings and his foster dad, and his foster dad is absolutely in love with him. Eddie definitely has the potential to be a social, outgoing guy, and he’s young so he has all the time to learn! He needs an owner who is good with setting and maintains rules, boundaries, and limitations so he can continue to thrive in his newfound behavior. He’s travel size, probably won’t pass 45 pounds, and loves exploring new places. He would love to go hiking, walk downtown, peruse the local park, and just experience life with you. Dog parks may make Eddie anxious and hyperactive, so I’d recommend a few months of training before attempting free range dog socials.

Things Eddie Loves:
Peanut Butter
Peanut Butter in a Kong
Nylabones
Ropes!
Tennis balls!
Toys!
Treats, very food motivated
Walks!
Lots of blankets in his crate
Playing in the yard with you
Giving soft kisses
Snuggling on the couch with you